Carnegie Medal winner for year’s outstanding children’s book announced today | Rosemary Sutcliff won in 1959 for The Lantern Bearers

Rosemary Sutcliff won the Carnegie Medal for The Lantern Bearers in 1959, and was runner-up in 1972 for  Tristan and Iseult – and its most recent winner is announced today. The  Medal is perhaps the UK’s most prestigious award for writing for children, the longest standing certainly, awarded every year in the UK to the writer of an outstanding book for children. The Library Association started the prize in 1936, in memory of the Scottish-born philanthropist Andrew Carnegie (1835-1919), a great supporter of reading and libraries.

First awarded to Arthur Ransome for Pigeon Post, the medal is now awarded by the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals. The winner receives a golden medal and some £500 worth of books to donate to a library of their choice.

Rosemary Sutcliff also:

Do Leave a Response

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s